Wednesday, February 11, 2015

The 2015 Society for General Microbiology Prize Medal is awarded to Sir David Baulcombe


Awarded annually to an outstanding microbiologist who is a global leader in his or her field and whose work has had a far-reaching impact beyond the discipline of microbiology.

The recipient of the Prize Medal will receive £1,000 and be expected to give a lecture based on the work for which the award has been made to a meeting of the Society. The recipient will be strongly encouraged to publish the lecture in one of the Society’s journals, whichever is the most suitable. This decision will be at the discretion of the Editors of the journals.

Nominations are now open for 2016 Prize lectures and the 2017 Prize Medal. All nominations and supporting documents should be submitted to no later than 30 April 2015.

The nomination form can be downloaded below.

 Prize Nomination Form 2016 (PDF)

Nominations should be supported by a statement describing the nominee's microbiological research and its far-reaching impact, a brief curriculum vitae (if possible to obtain) and a full bibliography of his or her work.

Please see below for a list of past winners.

2015- Sir David Baulcombe;The small RNA link in antiviral defense and epigenetics
2014- Rita Collwel; Climate change, oceans, and infectious disease: Cholera pandemics as a model
2013- Harald zur Hausen; Infections causing human cancers: why do some ubiquitous infections mainly cause regional cancers?
2012- Julian E. Davies; Molecules, Microbes and Me
2011- Sir David Hopwood; Streptomyces genomics: new routes to antibiotic discovery
2010- Sir Paul Nurse; Controlling the Cell Cycle
2009- Stanley B. Prusiner; Prion Biology and Disease